How I Forced Myself To Become More Confident

Real life advice from everyday girls to level up mentally

weBelong
2 min readJul 14, 2020

We are all struggling with low self-esteem, some days more than others. In a world filled with filters, it’s surprisingly common to feel this way. Ask around you and you’ll notice even your prettiest friends feel this way. We asked friends around for advice on how they leveled up mentally. Here’s how they did it:

Thomas Mowe (on Unsplash)

Look ahead

  • When I was younger, I used feel self conscious or even, almost paranoid whenever someone looked at me. It would trigger all my insecurities and all these thoughts would rush to my head. Stop looking at other people.

Listen to a badass playlist

  • Don’t underestimate the power of music. It can really change how you feel so much if you wear something bold, try a new hair color or a new cut and anything else that would make you feel more powerful and confident.

Expand and stretch yourself

  • When you stretch, it’s gonna hurt a little bit. It’s only natural. For instance, I was terrified of driving for so long so I would always try to avoid driving as much as I can. But one day I had to conquer my fears because. Driving more and more made me more comfortable on the road. I had so much anxiety. The more you do something, the easier it becomes.

Absorb as much as you can

  • Our last advice will be the most useful. You’ll grow into who you are as long as you can absorb. When I was younger, like many others, I didn’t know who I was yet. It’s perfectly fine, it’s a gradual process to discover what you love and everyone has different timing. More importantly, you create your own personality. Absorb as much as you can. The world is a big chaotic place. It marinates in yourself. The only way you know who you are is to experience many things. Talk to those people, go to those places and podcasts, meet those people. Now is the time to develop your interests. It’s okay to not know right off. What has a made you a more confident person?

“Life isn’t about finding yourself, it’s about creating yourself.”

If you need to talk to someone, you can download Ashley AI Friend. Ashley is a therapist-trained friend which listens and converses with you and you can chat with real life users about your day. It’s free to use. https://bit.ly/AshleyIn

--

--

weBelong

weBelong is a a digital safe space for marginalized teens to connect and chat with like-minded teens. Download: bit.ly/weBelong